room Lé Meridian Ibom Hotel & Golf Resort, Uyo

schedule Fri, 06 Nov 2009 - 10:00 +0100

2009 poster

Chairperson / Guest Speaker

  • Mr. Emeka Ezeze
    ChairmanMr. Emeka Ezeze

    Managing Director

    The Guardian Newspaper, Nigeria

  • Chief Assam Assam (SAN)
    Guest SpeakerChief Assam Assam (SAN)

    Former Ambassador of Nigeria to Russia and Belarus

    Federal Government of Nigeria


The second edition of the Annual Teachers’ Award for Excellence took place on November 6, 2009 at Le Meridian Hotel & Golf Resort, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State. The event was chaired by Mr. Emeka Izeze, Managing Director, The Guardian Newspaper, Nigeria. The keynote address was delivered by Chief Assam Assam, SAN. Mr. Ray Ekpu, CEO, Newswatch Magazine was present at the event and delivered a goodwill message. A total of 15 awards were presented to teachers at the occasion. His Excellency, the Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Engr. Patrick Ekpotu, later met and interacted with the awardees and mentors.

The mentoring clinic, a new initiative introduced by the Foundation to further enhance the achievement of its objectives was unveiled at the awards event. The Clinic provided a platform for the Mentors to initiate a relationship with students of the adopted schools. A total of 17 professionals elected to participate in the program, interacting with the best students from each class of their adopted secondary school. Riding on this relationship, the Mentors will continue to Mentor these students with a view to broadening their perspective about life, enhancing their self-esteem and motivating them to become better students who will grow to become leaders of tomorrow. A total of 102 students are currently being mentored.

A total of 102 students are currently being mentored.

Award photos

Winners list

English Language
Okon Iniobong E. Presbyterian Senior Science College, Ididep
Udoh Ekpo Jackson Ikono People’s High School, Ikono
Eshiet Cletus Stephen Ika Commercial Secondary School, Ikot Osukpong
Okpo Aniekan Enefiok Etinan Institute, Etinan
Esedeke Edet Okon Methodist Senior Science College, Oron
Abraham Udeme Dickson Community High School, Ekparakwa
Akpan Udofia Essien Presbyterian Senior Science College, Ididep
Edentekhe Iquo Abang Methodist Senior Science College, Oron
Akpan Jameson Ufot Secondary School Ibotio & Ndon, Onna
Umo Mfonobong Enefiok Etinan Institute, Etinan
Anita Victor George Presbyterian Senior Science College, Ididep
Mkpa Robert Ekere Community Secondary Commercial School, Ikot Oku, Ikono
Udoh Okon Akpapan St. Mary Senior Science College, Ediene, Abak
Udoka Ndifreke Sunday Secondary School Odoro Ikot
Thompson Nsese Gabriel Comprehensive High School, Edeyema