room E-Library Complex, IBB Way, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State

schedule Fri, 04 Nov 2022 - 10:00 +0100

2022 poster


Teaching Excellence

Chairperson / Guest Speaker

  • Mr. Usoro Usoro
    ChairmanMr. Usoro Usoro

    GM, Mobile Financial Services

    MTN Nigeria

  • Prof. Lawrence Etim
    Guest SpeakerProf. Lawrence Etim

    Department of Fisheries and Aquatic Environmental Management

    University of Uyo


The 15th Edition of the Foundation’s award for teaching excellence in Akwa Ibom State public secondary schools in Akwa Ibom State took place at Ibom E-Library Complex, IBB Way, Uyo , Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria on 4th November, 2022 by 10am with an opening prayer said by Mrs. Mfon Udom.  This was immediately followed by a safety briefing presented by Mr. Okodili Enyia of Savannah Energy.  A welcome address was presented by Professor Eno-Obong E. Joshua, the Chairman of the Foundation’s Award Screening Committee.

The Screening Committee Chairman took the guests through the aims of the Foundation, its inception, the total number of teachers and school principals that applied online for the screening exercise which were; 163 teachers, 11 Grand Mentors and 6 Principals; out of which, 144 teachers made up of:  

  • 27 English Language Teachers  
  • 23 Mathematics Teachers
  • 30 Biology Teachers
  • 29 Chemistry Teachers
  • 23 Physics Teachers
  • 11 Grand Mentors and 6 Principals

participated in the screening exercise which was a computer-based test together with an oral examination.  

The Screening Committee Chairman posit that low turnout of Teachers’ in the screening test was lack of exposure to ICT and proposed a mandatory training of Teachers and School Heads in Akwa Ibom on ICT.

The Chairman of the 2022 Award ceremony, Mr. Usoro Usoro, the CEO Momo Payment Service Bank, who gave a short remark on the increasing number of out of school children in Sub-Saharan Africa while in Nigeria, Akwa Ibom State and Kano State were ranked second highest number of out of school Students. He thanked Inoyo Toro Foundation for the wonderful initiative of encouraging Teachers and, for also promoting Education advancement in the State, he further encouraged well meaning citizens of State to adopt and mentor a school.

This year’s award marked the first in eight years that we have winners in all subject categories. And the Foundation spent the sum of N6,000,000.00 (Six Million Naira) as cash prize given to teachers in their respective subject categories.

The awards ceremony was punctuated with a Keynote Address by Professor Lawrence Etim of the University of Uyo. The address was entitled “Education, The most valuable tool for our Children”. He said that Education simply means the enlightenment of the mind. After an interesting address, he finally gave the benefit of Education to be; an opportunity to earn a higher income, that It gives an individual self-confidence and turns dreams to reality.

After the Grand mentor’s Awards Category, Mr. Ephraim Inyang Jacob Udo, a United States of America Fulbright TEA Award Winner took the audience through a brief history of his background and how got the TEA Awards and expressed his profound gratitude to the Inoyo Toro Foundation for giving him the platform to gain the experience and win the TEA Award.    Finally, the Principal’s Award, sponsored by Bassey Ukpong Udo Foundation and the family of Late Simon Etim (Akpanannang), was presented to Steve J. Akpabio, (KSM) the Principal of Christian Secondary Commercial School, Uyo; who is also the ANCOPSS President. The Awards was presented by Engr. Usen Ukpong Udo and Mrs. Nancy Samuel Inyang on behalf of the sponsors.  

The Honourable Commissioner for Education, who was represented by Dr. Glory Ekpo sent in her Goodwill Message and appreciation to the Foundation.  

Idorenyin Isaac gave a vote of thanks on behalf of the Foundation. He announced a pro bono coaching for first two Awardees that would send in their email addresses. He appreciated everyone that participated at the event and prayed for a safe trip on all the guests at the event.  

The event ended with group photographs by the Award recipients, guests and some organizers.


Award photos







Schools with mentors by LGA

Teachers awarded

Number of teachers = 24
Teachers by Gender
Teachers awarded per LGA

Sponsors and Winners

Teacher award

Award Sponsors and Winners

Grand Mentor award

Award Sponsors and Winners

Principal award

Award Sponsors and Winners

Programme, speeches and report

More from the event

For more videos from the event please visit our YouTube Channel