room Lé Meridian Ibom Hotel & Golf Resort, Uyo

schedule Fri, 03 Nov 2017 - 10:00 +0100

2017 poster


Effective Partnership for Sustainable Excellence in Education

Chairperson / Guest Speaker

  • Mr. Akan Udofia
    ChairpersonMr. Akan Udofia

    Managing Director

    Desicon Group

  • Major Gen. Isidore Edet
    Guest SpeakerMajor Gen. Isidore Edet


    Infantry Corps (CIC) Nigerian Army Jaji College, Kaduna


The events marking the 10th anniversary of the Inoyo Toro Foundation were observed in Uyo. In marking this milestone, the Foundation put in place several programmes to create an indelible memory. The occasion was preceded by a drama production. The play, written and directed by Professor Effiong Johnson and performed by staff and students of the Department of Theatre Arts, University of Uyo was titled “Adiaha Obong”. It pitched the resilient affront of Ekondo women against the brazen force of traditional patriarchy”.

The Foundation welcomed contingents from 90 schools for the anniversary event. A leap from the previous year (2016) which recorded 60 school contingents.

The awards program commenced with a welcome speech by the Chairman of the Screening Committee, Dr. Enobong Joshua, who traced the ten year journey of the Foundation and outlined the assessment and selection criteria for the teachers award. He narrated that the quality of assessment for the awardees were dependent, amongst other things on:

  • Appraisal of the learning facilities and environment
  • Availability of modestly equipped laboratories for science subjects and libraries
  • The score of the school in external examinations
  • Assessment of teachers based on their productivity and professional competence in their teaching subject area

The final screening test of the teachers is in two parts vis; a WAEC/NECO curriculum-based aptitude test and an oral interaction between the resource persons and successful candidates based on their performance in the aptitude test. Specific scores given first, second and third prizes. As a result of the scrutiny of the selection process, some prize categories were not awarded this year as no teachers met the recommended scores. This explains the absence of winners for the first and second prizes in English Language and Mathematics, absence of a first prize in Physics, as well as Visual Arts. He called for sponsorship of History to spur interest in its teaching and learning.

The Grand Mentors’ award challenges past winners to produce their kind, through regular mentoring of other teachers in their subject areas. The award attracts a cash prize of N500, 000 (Five hundred thousand naira only). Of the number of mentors invited for this year’s screening event, five were successful in English Language, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Economics. There was no grand mentor for Mathematics as no mentor attended the screening exercise.

Award photos


Mentors and mentees

Organisers and guests



Mentors by Gender
Mentors by Industry/Private
Schools with mentors by LGA

Teachers awarded

Number of teachers = 16
Teachers by Gender
Teachers awarded per LGA

Winners list

English Language
Favour Leo Norbert (3rd) Uyo High School, Uyo
Iniobong Jacob Etim (3rd) Etinan Community Comprehensive Secondary School, Etinan
Helen Godwin Mboho (1st) State Secondary Commercial School, Okop Eto, Ikot Ekpene
Francis Bassey Ube (2nd) Etoi Secondary School
Michael Joshua Udoh (3rd) Itam Secondary School, Obong Itam, Itu
Gabriel Matthew Ukpabio (1st) Lutheran Secondary School, Ibakachi
Godwin J. Akpan (2nd) McIntyre Secondary School, Utu Abak
Michael Sunday Ekanem (2nd) Community Secondary Commercial School, Ikot Okubo, Uyo
Ndifreke Thomas Udoh (3rd) Community Secondary School, Ikot Abia Idem, Ikot Ekpene
Bassey Patrick Eyo (1st) Apostolic Church Secondary School, Ikot Oku Nsit
Aniekan Okonah Udoh (2nd) Sec. Sch., Itu Mbonuso, Ini
Uwem Okon Akpakpan (3rd) Comty. Sec. Sch., Eka Uruk Eshiet
Visual Arts
Augustine Solomon Ekpoetor (2nd) McIntyre Sec. Comm. Sch., Utu Abak
Charles Mfon Otu (3rd) Comty. Sec Sch., Midim, Abak
Uduak Amos Akpanowo (1st) Iwukem High Sch., Etim Ekpo
Godwin C. Iyakndue (2nd) Comprehensive Sec, Sch., Ediene Abak
Anietie Mbom Okon (3rd) Comty. Sec. Comm. Sch., Ibiaku Itam, Itu
Grand Mentors Teachers Award Winner - English Language
Silvanus George Methodist Sec. Sch., Ibiaku Issiet, Uruan
Grand Mentors Teachers Award Winner - Physics
David Ufot Jacob Comty Sec. Comm. Sch., Ikot Okubo, Uyo
Grand Mentors Teachers Award Winner - Chemistry
Joseph Anna Ubon Comp. Sec Sch., Ikot Uneke, Ibiono Ibom
Grand Mentors Teachers Award Winner - Biology
Imaobong Ekaette Ekaette Christian Sec. Comm. Sch., Uyo
Grand Mentors Teachers Award Winner - Physics
Kubiat Bassey Umoh Comty Sec. Comm. Sch., Ikot Usen, Ibiono
Principal's Award Winner
Mr. Godwin John Ekong Govt. Secondary School, Afaha Eket

Programme, speeches and report