Awards from past years

Teachers’ Award for Excellence

The Foundation in line with its vision to improve the standard of education in Akwa Ibom state, using teachers as the focal point, instituted a Special Annual Award for the “Celebration of Excellence in Teaching”, of English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Economics, History and Visual Arts in Akwa Ibom state public secondary schools.

To avoid interference and ensure credibility, an award committee separate from the board of trustees is set up by the Foundation to manage the entire selection and awards process. This committee performs its function in collaboration with the Akwa Ibom State Secondary Education Board.

Award screening exercise in progress

Aptitude/skill test administered by an independent body on the selected teachers

Criteria for Selecting Award Winners

To choose winners for the awards, the Award Committee has put in place competitive, rigorous and transparent selection criteria:

  • Review and ranking of West African School Certificate (WASC) results for all public secondary schools in Akwa Ibom state for initial shortlisting
  • Review of the Senior Secondary 1, Senior Secondary 2 and Senior Secondary 3 students’ registration rate for the shortlisted schools
  • Visit to the schools to access and ascertain availability of laboratories, libraries, and the general school environment to authenticate the school’s performance in the West African School Certificate (WASC) examination
  • Input from the school principals, fellow teachers, and students of the selected teachers via questionnaires
  • Aptitude/skill test administered by an independent body on the selected teachers
  • Oral interview for final selection
One of the winners of the 2022 Teachers’ Award

One of the winners of the 2022 Teachers’ Award

Grand Mentor Teachers’ Award

In 2010, the Foundation started a challenge to all past winners to reproduce the same excellence in their colleagues, a feat for which they will be recognized in another award named the Grand Mentor Teachers’ Award.

2021 Grand Mentor Awardees

2021 Grand Mentor Awardees

Criteria for Eligibility for Award

  • This award is open ONLY to past and present winners of the Teachers’ Award for Excellence
  • Eligible teachers are required to adopt between 4 and 7 teachers in their subject of specialization
  • They would be required to register their mentor group
  • During the year, the leader of the mentor group should convene regular mentoring sessions designed to hone the skills of all the teachers in their group - sharing knowledge and teaching techniques


  • Combined average score of top 4 members of the group
  • Evidence of serious activity in the mentoring group throughout the year
  • The individual score of the leader of the mentoring group
  • Any special or distinct contribution toward achieving the objective of the Foundation beyond teaching in class or mentoring a fellow teacher

Principal’s Award

In 2016, the Foundation instituted the Principal’s Award, which is aimed at rewarding the efforts of exceptional public school heads, who have distinguished themselves in pushing the academic advancement of their institutions.

Best Principal Awardee Mrs Eno Etukudo of St. Francis Sec Sch, Ikot Ataku, Eket LGA

Best Principal Awardee Mrs Eno Etukudo of St. Francis Sec Sch, Ikot Ataku, Eket LGA

Criteria for Selecting Award Winner

  • Principals are selected through an instrument generated in collaboration with the State Secondary Education Board
  • Selected principals are required to produce a dossier of their achievement in the school since appointment, which is then scrutinized based on earlier evaluation by ministry officials
  • Schools of shortlisted principals are visited to appraise their claims
  • Principals with verified claims are invited to a screening test where consideration is given to practical management and administrative competence
  • The best performing principals are then invited for an oral interaction with two consultants